3/17/13 St. Patty’s Day!

Read-Aloud: On Wednesday, I read an article about how abuse effects the development of childrens’ brains; the article was published by Scholastic and written by two doctors.  I chose this article because I thought it was interesting how abuse could effect how a child’s brain develops.  I would use the article in a high school and even college classroom because of the large words and medical jargon.

Learning Experiences: During the week, we learned about preschools and how they work.  Our first school visit of the week was to Orange Grove Elementary to observe kindergarten classes and a preschool.  I found the preschool at Orange Grove to be more interesting because that is the age that I like most.  It was interesting to see the schedule of the 2-5 year olds and the 1 year olds and younger.  I didn’t like how small the space was for the amount of kids that were there however.  They needed a larger area to work and play in.  We also visited Charlestowne Montessori on Thursday which was an eye-opening experience.  Personally, I didn’t agree with many of their tactics and I wouldn’t send my child to a school like that.  I never knew what a Montessori school was, but visiting the school informed me a new tactic of learning that I had never known about.

Current Event: In New York City, there is a four-floor school building that has nine different schools within it.  The governor was shutting down many failing schools and they all seemed to come together in one place.  Scores and grades have improved compared to previous years as well.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/03/17/nyregion/at-the-stevenson-campus-nine-high-schools-one-roof.html?ref=education&_r=0

Quote: “Live as if you were to die tomorrow.  Learn as if you were to live forever.” -Mahatma Gandhi

I chose this quote because I though Gandhi’s quote was very inspirational.  I never looked at learning the way that he described.  I believe that he was implying that we should learn as much as possible as if we could live forever.

Observations: In the Montessori school, I observed how the children were learning.  The rooms were a neutral color and not very interesting.  When dealing with children who are young, a colorful, vibrant room helps makes the environment more of a welcoming space for the children to learn in.  Therefore, I feel that young children should be able to learn in a colorful environment with a structured, yet flexible curriculum where the children can learn what is necessary for them to function in society.

Reflections: The school visits this week were eye-opening experiences and they made my decisions for my future child concrete.  Seeing preschool classrooms enabled me to get an idea for my project and made me knowledgeable of how preschools function.  I learned that there are many different tactics in learning and everyone should look into the different types before they decide which is best for their children.

One thought on “3/17/13 St. Patty’s Day!

  1. maryrallen

    Brittany,

    I’m really glad that you are thinking of your future and your children’s future. It’s important to be aware of the choices you have as a parent.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

